Remembering a good friend

Whenever someone in my life dies (which, thank heavens, is not often), I go through a period where everything else seems utterly unimportant. It’s a part of how I grieve. I haven’t been writing for the past few weeks for that reason.

A friend and coworker of mine passed away very suddenly at our staff holiday party; he was 29 years old. Apparently, his heart was enlarged by 30 per cent at the time of his death–seemingly appropriate for someone who was so compassionate. After some time alone, it seems I’m finding my way out of that abyss and feel comfortable returning to my blog–and, like a blockbuster DVD release, just in time for Christmas.

In the past month, I have been very cognisant of and grateful for what I have in a material sense. But my friend’s passing has allowed me to extend that thought process into being thankful for who I have in my life, as well. This is a short post, but all I really want to express at the moment is my recognition and gratitude for love, health, peace and freedom.

Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Remembering a good friend

  1. “There but for the grace of God go I…”

    Happy Holidays Jen, and all the best for 2010. Looking forward to the next “Black Dogs’ Adventure” (Burritos optional).

Leave a Reply

