Carbon offset my guilt

I did something today that I have never done before, something I will never do again. I bought my first car. Well, if you want to get technical, the bank did…I have to pay them back.

Why did I buy a car? Because I got a job! The hunt is over. I found a great writing gig in Mississauga, so I’ll need to commute. But more on that later.

The decision to purchase a Hyundai Elantra (bring on the jokes) was easy: it’s nice and cheap. I will admit I spent a little extra for A/C, as most wimpy Torontonians tend to do. This was a conflicted decision, because I rarely condone air conditioning. While it’s nice to have on a hot, stop-and-go day in traffic, it’s overused and harmful to our ozone and that sort of thing gets to me. I like to think of myself as an environmentally conscious individual.

Up until now, I’ve felt pretty good about taking public transit. Even though I loathe sharing my personal space and air, it has made me feel like I’m doing my part. Now I have a car with air conditioning. To my former self, I am considered a lesser person. At least I was.

When signing all the papers blah blah blah, I noticed a $100 federal tax for air conditioning. Usually added fees frustrate me, but not today. Today I felt really good, like justice was being served. It offset my guilt almost completely. What does the $100 go towards? No clue. All I know is that I paid for my mistake.

hyundai

What shall I name it? (Image from Prime Motors)

If I was reading this blog, I would want to comment about how Westerners think they can simply throw money at problems to make them go away (instead of changing their behaviour). Have at it. I won’t disagree.

9 thoughts on “Carbon offset my guilt

  1. Can you name your name Edward Cullen? Its dark, has cold AC but then can be hot and cold at the same time (heated seats +AC) is lightening fast and very strong. And if you look at it long enough it starts to become pretty attractive. That or taun taun.

Leave a Reply

